WAS Designer Profile: Sandra Vukovic

sandra
Photography courtesy of Dinesh E.

How did you get into fashion/design?  Was there a defining point in your career?  If so, how did it shape you as a designer?
I was always an artistic kid as far as my memory serves me. Somewhere around the 8th grade I had narrowed down what type of art I wanted to do and chose fashion design. The idea of envisioning something in your mind and being able to create and use it was thrilling to me. It has shaped me as a designer in the sense that I am very confident in myself because I have always known what direction I wanted to go in without a second of doubt.

How would you define your personal style?
Do you feel it reflects the work you produce?
Ironically, I don’t think my personal style reflects my work at all. On an everyday basis I tend to dress very casually and have more of a minimalist style. I use designing as my escape to reach creativity. That is when I let my mind flow and I like to design clothing that will make a statement.

What was your inspiration for the piece(s) you created?
The first piece was by the spine and ribcage of the human body. I tried to focus on their defining features so that my design portrays my inspiration clearly. Dream catchers inspired my second piece. I love their fluidity of movement in the wind, the feathers and color schemes. All aspects of dream catchers are very appealing to me and my goal was to embody a dream catcher in a piece of evening wear.

What tips would you give to anybody who is looking to get started in fashion/design?
Be prepared for a roller-coaster of emotions and many sleepless nights. Only enter this industry if you are fully committed and have a real passion for it. It is very stressful but if you enjoy it and push through the tough times, the end results are very fulfilling.

You’re put into a “Freaky Friday” situation where you can switch lives for a day with anyone.  Who would you switch with and why?
Karl Lagerfeld.  He is so influential in the fashion industry and he is pure genius. His personality is so blunt and he says things that most of us think. It would be incredible to be able to voice your opinions and still be loved and respected for them.

Where can readers find more about you and your work?
Mostly on social media sites like Facebook and Instagram where I will post photographs of my work.  In the near future I am looking to create my own website which will allow readers to have access to all my work in one location.
Facebook: Sandra Vukovic
Instagram: rejverka

SandraVukovic

Leave a comment